Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

MoPSW announces developing of 14 new National Waterways

Share This News Story:

NEW DELHI : Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways of India approved 14 new National Waterways in addition to development of five National Waterways (NWs) (NW-1 to NW-5), -Government of India in the States of Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Goa, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra and Assam.

Jawai-Luni-Rann of Kutch River System has been declared as National Waterway-48 for a total length of 615 km (205 km in Rajasthan & 410 km in Gujarat) under National Waterways Act, 2016 along with 111 NWs in the country. As per the final feasibility Report, NW-48 has not been found feasible for development for shipping and navigation.

There is no proposal to construct Bhawatraport and hence the question of time limit for its construction does not arise. List of new NWs sanctioned under Phase-I development

  1. NW-8- Alappuzha-Changanassery Canal in Kerala
  2. NW-9- Alappuzha-Athirampuza Canal in Kerala
  3. NW-27-Cumberjua River in Goa
  4. NW-68- Mandovi River in Goa
  5. NW-111- Zuari River in Goa
  6. NW-86- River Rupnarayan in West Bengal
  7. NW-97- Sundarbans Waterways in West Bengal
  8. NW-40- Ghaghra River in U.P. & Bihar
  9. NW-44- Ichamati River in West Bengal
  10. NW-10- Amba River in Maharashtra
  11. NW-28-Dabhol Creek Vashisthi River in Maharashtra
  12. NW-57- Kopili River in Assam
  13. NW-31- Dhansiri River in Assam
  14. NW-16- River Barak in Assam
Share This News Story: