Lost your password?
Don't have an account? Sign Up

Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port Chairman Vinit Kumar takes Additional Charge as Chairman of Paradip Port

Share This News Story:

PARADIP : Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port, Kolkata (erstwhile Kolkata Port Trust) Chairman Shri Vinit Kumar, an IRSEE Officer of 1993 batch assumed the additional charge of Chairman of Paradip Port Trust on 23 December 2020. He is currently at the helm of affairs of Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port, since 9 October 2017.

Shri Vinit Kumar was Chief Electrical Engineer in Mumbai Railway Vikas Corporation Ltd. and looked after World Bank funded MUTP project before joining as Chairman, Kolkata Port Trust. Shri Kumar joined administrative post of Secretary, Central Railway and gained experience in general administration. Shri Kumar worked in Central Railway in Mumbai suburban system, one of the densest suburban system in the world in maintenance and operations of rolling stock and traction installations. He also worked in Pune and Nagpur in independent charge of traction assets and locomotive workshop. He has wide experience in operation, maintenance, infrastructure development and general administration of Railways.

As Chairman of Syama Prasad Mookerjee Port, Kolkata, Shri Kumar has played a pivotal and dynamic role for the Port to achieve the highest cargo handling in two consecutive years of 2018-19 and 2019-2020 which surpassed all previous records in the 150-year history of the port.

In addition to cargo handling, the Port achieved profitability of INR 60 crore for the first time in 15 years due to his thoughtful and energetic leadership. In a befitting manner, glorious celebration of 150th anniversary of Kolkata Port was graciously inaugurated by Hon’ble Prime Minister of India on 11th January 2020 under his skillful guidance.

Share This News Story: